NASA needs your help! | UFOP: StarBase 118 Star Trek RPG

Community News

NASA needs your help!

Share this:

In just over two years time, on New Years Day 2019 to be precise, one of NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft will be at the outer edge of our solar system, flying past a small frozen world in the Kuiper Belt. The world’s current designation is (486958) 2014 MU69. Not very imaginative!

NASA and the New Horizons team have reached out to the public to help give (486958) 2014 MU69 a nickname. Why not have a go at submitting a name? After all, how amazing would it be if one of our own suggestions was the winner! Who knows, maybe it could even end up as StarBase 118 canon!

Head over to the Frontier Worlds website where you can browse, nominate and vote on the names submitted so far.

The campaign will be closing December 1 at 12pm Pacific / 3pm Eastern / 8pm London / 7am+1 Sydney (Aus), with their selection being announced in early January.

About Jarred Thoran

Jarred Thoran is currently the Executive Officer of the USS Columbia. His real name is Richard, and his interests include sci-fi, cycling and taekwondo. He currently lives in Germany with his partner and young child.
View all posts by Jarred Thoran