writingeventbanner Writing Improvement Month 2013

“There is only one plot: Things are not what they seem.” – Jim Thompson

Anyone can build a house, if they have the right tools. But can you build a beautiful house? You can if you learn from the best architects and designers.

That was the central idea of the Writing Improvement Month as we were creating it. And now we’re ready to bring those architects and designers to you, for the sake of honing your craft and learning new tricks of the trade to help you build beautiful fiction.

Join us for a month-long event of writing, tutorials, guided study, featured works of great fiction, and interviews with professional writers. Sign up using the form on the right.

Our event focuses on nine subjects: Character Building, Descriptive Writing, Scene Setting, Character Interactions, Plotting, Simming Realistically, Character Conflicts, Grammar, and Research. Over the course of the month, you’ll hear from expert writers on how to improve your writing in each of these areas.

Special Guests


sb118 Margaret Wander Bonanno Writing Improvement Month 2013 Margaret Wander Bonanno is the author of several Star Trek novels and the Preternatural Writing Improvement Month 2013series. In 1997, her work was listed among the New York Times notable books.

social amazon Writing Improvement Month 2013 social blogger Writing Improvement Month 2013

sb118 Lev Grossman Writing Improvement Month 2013 Lev Grossman is the author of The Magicians: A Novel Writing Improvement Month 2013, which was a New York Times bestseller in both hardcover and paperback. He is a senior writer and book critic for Time magazine, and in 2011, he won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

social amazon Writing Improvement Month 2013 social blogger Writing Improvement Month 2013 social twitter Writing Improvement Month 2013

sb118 David R George III Writing Improvement Month 2013 David R. George III is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author. His latest work Allegiance in Exile Writing Improvement Month 2013 is his twelfth Star Trek novel. He co-wrote the Star Trek: Voyager episode “Prime Factors,” which was nominated for a Sci-Fi Universe award, and has written numerous articles for Star Trek Magazine.

social amazon Writing Improvement Month 2013 social facebook Writing Improvement Month 2013 social twitter Writing Improvement Month 2013

Melinda Snodgrass Writing Improvement Month 2013 Melinda Snodgrass has been a writer on numerous television series, including Star Trek: The Next Generation, where she wrote five episodes and was nominated for a WGA Award. She is also a published author of seven novels, including The Edge of Reason Writing Improvement Month 2013.

social amazon Writing Improvement Month 2013 social blogger Writing Improvement Month 2013 social twitter Writing Improvement Month 2013

sb118 Peter Watts Writing Improvement Month 2013 Peter Watts is a Hugo Award-winner, and the author of Blindsight Writing Improvement Month 2013, six other science fiction novels, and a number of short stories. He’s also survived necrotising fasciitis (a.k.a. “flesh-eating bacteria”).

social amazon Writing Improvement Month 2013 social blogger Writing Improvement Month 2013

Schedule of Live Events

Sunday, February 3

  • Opening Ceremonies, IRC chat. (11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT / Monday AM for Australia)
  • General Writing Skills with Margaret Wander Bonanno, IRC chat. (12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / Monday AM for Australia)

Saturday, February 9

  • Grammar and Research workshop with Capt. Diego Herrera of UFOP: SB118, IRC chat. (12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / Sunday AM for Australia)

Sunday, February 17

  • General Writing Skills with Lev Grossman, video chat (12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / Monday AM for Australia)
  • Interactive writing workshop with Capt. Kalianna Nicholotti of UFOP: SB118, IRC chat. (1:30pm PST / 4:30pm EST / 9:30pm GMT / Monday AM for Australia)

Saturday, February 23

  • Characterization Q&A with David R. George III, video chat. (12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / Sunday AM for Australia)
  • Characters and realism workshop with FltCapt. Andrus Jaxx of UFOP: SB118, IRC chat. (1:30pm PST / 4:30pm EST / 9:30pm GMT / Sunday AM for Australia)

Sunday, February 24

  • General Writing Skills with Melinda Snodgrass, video chat. (12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / Monday AM for Australia)

Tuesday, February 26

  • General Plotting Skills with Peter Watts, video chat. (1pm PST / 4pm EST / 9pm GMT / Wednesday AM for Australia)

Saturday, March 2

  • Closing Ceremonies — announcement of Writing Challenge winner, IRC chat. (12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / Sunday AM for Australia)

Writing Challenge

Check out our Writing Challenge information page for more information on how you can enter the challenge and win a prize!

Sign Up Form

Add your information below to receive tutorials on how to better craft your works of fiction, alongside invitations to exclusive live events with authors and members of online fan-fiction community. You can unsubscribe at any time.
[OFFLINE]